NCAA 2008: Buy or Wait?

So NCAA Football 2008 has come out, creating hysteria amongst the college football world. There are a few Bama bloggers who have already bought their copies (Todd and Memphis Tider).

My dilemma is this: I want to buy this game and play it. But, I have a PS2 (which isn’t the end of the world by any means). I want to get a game with the best graphics, or graphics good enough to satisfy most people. I know I can afford an Xbox 360 in a few weeks if I wanted that version. Or, I could save my money for a longer period of time and get a PS3 eventually.

The only problems with buying an Xbox is that I would have to go buy a lot of games for it instead of just putting in my old PS2 games into the PS3. However, the Xbox is cheaper than the PS3, and seems to run at 60 frames per second. Plus, I could just keep the PS2 and still play those old games on it.

So, I propose a set of questions to you, the reader:

1. Should I buy the game for the PS2 or wait for another system?

2. If I do buy a new system, should it be the Xbox 360 or the Playstation 3?

3. Am I stupid for wasting a post on this topic?

4. What would Nick Saban do?

5. Is EA Sports just messing with my head? If so, how successful are their tactics on me compared to the rest of the country?

ncaa-08-custom-cover-43.jpg

Temptation: Do you really want to spend the rest of your life wondering…

I Think The Hoover Probe May End Soon

Why? Well, they’ve spent $16,665 for the first five days of the investigation. Sam Pointer did give them a discount. But still, you have to wonder how long the Hoover Board is willing to keep writing checks for these interviews.

Pointer’s law firm applied a discount of $2,921.25 for the June bill. In a letter to Superintendent Andy Craig, Pointer said he did not charge for interviews when more than two attorneys participated, brief telephone calls and consultations among the attorneys.

The most expensive interview was $1,980 for a joint session in which the firm spoke with two people. All but one of the eight interview sessions exceeded $1,000. Interviews ran between 1½ and three hours, according to the bill.

The four attorneys handling the investigation are charging hourly rates of $350, $325, $290 and $250. The amount of time an attorney stays during a conference or interview varies.

Pointer is hinting towards having some information at the end of the month. But, he won’t be finished by then. If they get a good enough answer by the end of July, I think they’ll end it then and there. After that, they’ll release what Pointer found and go on their merry ways.

We Did It!!

Congratulations Alabama nation, we did it! We actually went a night without news of a player’s arrest! After having to stress out over Deadrick, Upchurch, and then Fanney, no news is actually good news right now. Maybe now we can get something from the athletic department in the next day or two so we can start putting this behind us.

Celebration was the theme of the night in Tuscaloosa. However, it did now spill out into the streets since that would cause more arrests.

I won’t be making many comments on this issue –or these issues, however you want to look at it– until something new actually comes out. Saban is taking his time (which is fine) and we’ll just have to wait until he feels ready to make a decision.