One Last Iron Bowl Post

Oh, that felt nice. Very, very nice. 6 years of watching Tuberville make snide comments, holding up fingers across the ocean, and celebrating on our midfield logo have come to an end. Instead of getting #7 in a row, he gets career loss #7 against Alabama and the 7th loss of this 2008 season for his Auburn Tigers.

I guess I should give him his due. He came in trying to motivate his team with his behavior the past week. He was cool, collected, and even cocky up until the start of the eventual beat down. They say pride always comes before the fall. If that is the case, Tubs fell hard.

t-tub

How many co-SEC West championships do we want?!

Speaking of pride, I must brag on John Parker Wilson. He’s suffered criticism from all sorts, including comments on this very blog (not as negative as others, but still critical). He came up huge this year as a leader. He isn’t a Tebow or Stafford, but he’s the only one who has managed an offense to a 12-0 regular season.

I’ve never understood why Auburn fans referred to him as Sarah Jessica Parker Wilson, because he’s been one of the toughest QBs in the league since his 1st SEC start. He runs up the middle, doesn’t shy away from making tough blocks, and always tries to fight out of Sacks (sometime too much, as seen in the 2007 game against LSU). In fact, he broke out of a few sacks to make some nice 1st down plays against Auburn. Sarah Jessica no more, because he’s earned it and then some.

But enough about the Iron Bowl. It was a nice win, and I will certainly enjoy not having to suffer the modern day “Punt Bama Punt” for a few days, but it is time to focus on a game with much more importance. Yes, I’m talking about the SEC Championship game against the Florida Gators.

Some feel that Alabama will suffer a fate worse than Georgia at the Cocktail Party. Others think that Alabama is built to beat a team like Florida. Tim Tebow and Chris Rainey are VERY talented, and we will certainly need a big time performance from our Defense. Florida’s D-Line seems to be suffering from the injury bug, so I hope our O-line can continue to create holes and protect John Parker Wilson.

I’ve been so happy with this season so far, I’m almost ready to say I could live an ok life from here on out if we lost this game. But that was the old Bama mindset. The new Bama mindset involves discipline as you strive to beat the guy in front of you for 60 minutes. The new Bama mindset requires focus and tenacity every single play of every single drive. Bama teams of the recent past would’ve been happy to sit on a lead of 10-0 over an arch-rival, but not this one.

I know we’re capable of winning it all, and so is Florida. If we play hard and get beat in the end, I’ll be ok in a few days. But I want this one, and I want it bad. Something tells me that Nick Saban and company want it even more than I ever will.

3 Responses to “One Last Iron Bowl Post”

  1. TonyOrlando Says:

    Well said. Either way, after the SEC game, there will be no doubt who the best team in the country is.

  2. thronedoggie Says:

    I suspect that the SJPW tag comes from the following pair of attributes:

    1) JPW’s just too doggone pretty
    2) JPW is a three-namer, and so is SJP – and they share one of those names.

  3. tmc1 Says:

    Allow me to pass on my condolences to you Druid in the premature termination of Tommy Tuberville. I know that this would have a deep and lasting effect on you for at least 5-10 minutes. If it helps, I just try to remember Tommy the way he was and follow that with hysterical laughter at the tool of a man getting run off from the “ugliest little village on the plains…”


Leave a Reply

