March Madness Absent in Tuscaloosa

As you may know, Alabama will not participate in a post-season tournament of any sort. Personally, I’m content to just call it a year since it would be embarrassing to pay $60,000 to play in this CBI thing that is being stuffed down our throats. If we can’t make the NIT, then we don’t deserve to play any more games.

But, don’t let that deter you from enjoying one of the best sporting events of the year. There are plenty of entertaining match-ups for the NCAA tournament, although I’m not seeing a ton of upsets in terms of seeds this year. I’m going against the grain in not picking a 12 seed over a 5 seed, and I have three #1 seeds making the Final Four in Kansas, North Carolina, and UCLA (I have Texas winning in Houston to reach San Antonio).

I may try to show you a few of my picks later, but it’s Spring Break and I’m just going to take it easy until Thursday. Besides, I still have time to change my mind until the first game tips off.

I should probably say something about Mark Gottfried afters such a bad season. The fans are unhappy, the attendance is down, and we just plain stunk. I imagine the Alabama fan base will be up in arms again on Finebaum since Dennis Felton and Georgia won the SEC tournament. This gives us the worst overall performance in the conference in a lot of people’s eyes considering Auburn is still a mess and Gottfried has been here for 10 years. He absolutely has to make the NCAA tournament next year in order to stick around (that includes good results in SEC play). Mal is looking for reasons to keep him, which means he does not want to have to hire a new coach before he retires. Mal should stick around for one more year or so, which leads to a completely different can of worms.

One Response to “March Madness Absent in Tuscaloosa”

  1. crimson daddy Says:

    I have the same Final Four.

    Come join our Pick ‘Em group on Yahoo. Details are at TSIB.


Leave a Reply

