What’s Up With The Hip Bump?

Have you ever seen a player catch a touchdown, get up, and jump up in the air to bump hips with his teammate? I have, and I’m starting to see this more and more in the celebratory side of sports. Our very own Crimson Tide team does it like it is going out style (JPW, DJ, Andre Smith even), so that would probably explain why I’ve been exposed to it so much.

I’m only 22, but I’m already starting to get confused by what the new trends are. This causes me to become very unhappy, which is followed by me comparing it to how I used to do it during “my day”, where frightful snow storms randomly attacked school children sent to fetch the newspaper for Ma and Pa. But, I usually go find something on the History Channel to calm me down (I can’t get enough of Shiloh), where I eventually fall asleep on the couch dreaming of what to do with the next blasted Frisbee that lands in my back yard (I SEE WHAT YOU’RE DOING LITTLE JIMMY! AND LET ME TELL YOU, THE NEXT ONE IS GOING TO BE SHOVED DOWN A WOOD CHIPPER ALA ‘FARGO’!). But I digress…..

See if you can count how many hip bumps are in this video. I recommend you ignore the horrible background music. I would count the hip bumps myself, but a special about 19th century clipper ships is about to come on (I also cannot get enough of outdated modes of transportation).

2 Responses to “What’s Up With The Hip Bump?”

  1. Dave(not that one, the other one) Says:

    I’ve noticed the proliferation of hip bump this season as well. It almost makes me long for the days of the celebratory TD dance, like the Sherman Shake and all that.

    also, you are right about the background music, Rush is not the way to go on these things.

  2. TideDruid Says:

    Where’s my icky shuffle!?


Leave a Reply

