Total Meltdown

That basketball game I told you to pay attention to? Yeah…. I’m sorry to get your interest up. That was, without a doubt, one of the worst performances I’ve seen out of an Alabama basketball team in Tuscaloosa in a long, long time. It’s not who we lost to, it’s how we lost. If you’ve been at a program for 9+ years, you shouldn’t lose at home by 20+ points.

I respect Clemson basketball. I personally think they’ll be a legit threat in the ACC this year, and will probably make the NCAA tournament. But, I can’t help but vent my frustration about such a poor performance. Gottfried sounded angry after the game. GOOD! He needs to be if this team is to do anything.

Of course, Gottfried isn’t blameless in this whole issue either. He’s a great recruiter, and an average coach (at best). I can’t stand the “FIRE GOTTFRIED!” crowd every time we lose a game. But, there has to be a change of some sort if this program is to stop going in circles. To me, it seems that we have a staff built on recruiting, and not on X’s and O’s. But, I’m not a great basketball opinion writer, so maybe I’m just getting too riled up. Still, we should expect better than what happened on New Years Day.

Leave a Reply

