Are We On Notice?

Yes, basketball season has officially started. What big time program has the unfortunate luck of being the first “upset”? Those blue blooded Kentucky Wildcats, who lost to Gardner-Webb last night by a score of 84-68. Crazy huh?

So naturally, most SEC fans will probably start to look on their schedule, wondering who could pull off an eye catching mid-major upset. Alabama might just have one or two in the first 3 games of the season, although I’m not too worried about it.

***DISCLAIMER: I am a big basketball fan, but I don’t know too much about these smaller teams until I am able to get my yearly talking points from ESPN. So if I miss something important, I apologize. Bobby Jack and crew of Bama Hoops Blog are the people to listen to for the entire season.***

Troy

The first game of the season brings us our first real challenge. From the town of Troy, Alabama, the Trojans should give the Tide a bit of a challenge. If the pre-season game against North Alabama was any indication, we could have a situation on our hands by halftime. Still, Troy brings in a record of 13-17 from last season, and I’m confident that our talent will be able to push back the Trojans for a victory.

What’s the worst that could happen?

@ Mercer

This game is strange for the simple fact that we’re actually going to play on Mercer’s home court. It appears that more and more of the major conferences are starting to visit the mid-major sites these days. Needless to say, this could be a bit of a bumpy road for our team without Ronald Steele, the leader of this team. Mercer was able to beat Gardner-Webb last season, but they struggle throughout 2007. A middle of the pack Atlantic Sun team will give us a few issues, but I’m still confident that we can be the better team if we actually give some effort this season.

The site of our impending doom?

Belmont

The winners of the Atlantic Sun tournament will be coming to Coleman Coliseum, ending their 6 game road trip. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of a team winning 6 road games in a row, so I doubt they’ll be able to pull off any sort of upset. Sure, they might give us a panic or two, but they should be handled by the 2nd half. Try and see if any of those Belmont music majors are coming, I hear they’re pretty talented. But I’m a bit of a pep band fan, so I always like to hear music playing in the arena. (yes, I understand that the visiting team rarely brings a pep band.)

You know you love it.

One Response to “Are We On Notice?”

  1. Dave(not that one, the other one) Says:

    I believe the reason we are playing at Mercer, is because we have a kid from Macon, GA on our team, and it gives him an opportunity to play “at home”, and also strangthens our recruiting efforts in the state of GA.


Leave a Reply

