Observations While I Was Not Posting

I apologize for not posting as often this week. I’ve had 3 midterms in 7 days, which can be pretty stressful at times. But such is life, so I can’t really complain too much. I could be worse off.

So while I was wasting time trying to keep myself from actually studying, I came across this conversation post on Snarkastic.com:

5:12:02 PM Holly: Billy Donovan’s head looks so TINY, introducing those players. Couldn’t they have gotten him a smaller circle?
5:15:12 PM Livia: BRANDON COX LOOKS LIKE A VAMPIRE
5:15:14 PM Livia: WHAT THE HELL
5:15:21 PM Livia: HAS HE EVER BEEN OUTSIDE BEFORE?
5:15:46 PM Holly: Does Starkville count? Probably nt.
5:16:31 PM Livia: Florida should just put garlic in their helmets
5:16:36 PM Holly: and sleep with cross.

Is Brandon Cox a vampire, feeding on the poor freshman of Auburn? Well, I’m not so sure about that. Auburn has played an 11:30 am game. Although it would be cool to see Cox swoop in and suck the life out of the next Tight End to drop an open pass….. watch your back Tommy Trott. Still, I think the answer is pretty obvious.

Nick Saban apparently got Jim Leavitt’s attention after making these remarks:

“I think that the distribution of players is not the same for everyone. We can’t take Props (partial qualifiers) in the SEC. They can’t take them in the ACC. And there’s a significant amount of players who don’t qualify. And they end up being pretty good players at some of these schools. I think there are six guys starting on South Florida’s defense who probably could have gone to Florida or Florida State but Florida and Florida State couldn’t take them. And if you do a good job of recruiting that way–now the Big East has passed a rule that they aren’t going to take Props at some time in the future. I don’t know if it’s next year or the year after or whenever.”

To which Jim Leavitt replied:

“Of 110 players, we have two nonqualifiers, one starts, one doesn’t,” Leavitt said. “The Big East doesn’t allow nonqualifiers. For a guy to make a mistake like that is not right.

“I’m not down on [Saban]. Whoever gave him that information needs to correct it. Certainly this person [Birmingham News reporter Ray Melick], what right does he have to write an article without verifying all the facts. This is why I get disturbed sometimes, because now this article goes out.

“It’s an absolute wrong to do that.”

All I know is that two of the best recruits of the last few years got into Big East institutions, (Mike Ford and Noel Devine) after either being told they were a possible long shot or failed to qualify at other schools. Take that for what it is worth.

Brandon Deadrick did receive some punishment, having to help senior citizens in need of assisted living:

It was more of “a life punishment,” Deaderick said. He said Alabama coach Nick Saban arranged for him to do community service at Capstone Village, an assisted living facility in Tuscaloosa.

“It really makes you grateful for the things you have,” Deaderick said. “It makes you better as a person. That’s pretty much beyond running.” Saban was “very understanding.”

I think my dad got a ton of mail from this place a few days after he turned 50, which caused me to laugh for days on end. Am I a horrible person? Maybe. Should I apologize for that? I think that’s a matter of opinion. Besides, I’ll end up with a kid 10 times worse than I when I turn 50 in 2035.

And finally, the Mets collapsed…. giving me great joy that can only be squashed by a Rockies loss to the Phillies.

He’s dead inside

(HT: AL.com, TBO.com, Snarkcastic.com)

One Response to “Observations While I Was Not Posting”

  1. Joe Blow Says:

    Ray was on the Roundtable yesterday talking about this. He changed the quote (left some out, shortened it a bit) for the article in order to make Saban look better. Here’s the actual article. My question is, why does he care how Saban looks? Why not use the original quote in its entirety? Never mind that Ray has slipped up a few times and said “we” when referring to Bama fans on his own radio show. If he’s going to act in this manner, why even bother to verify the facts?

    I had a much longer rant, but decided not to dirty up your blog. I just can’t stand local media, and that has nothing to do with Bama/Auburn.

    Keep up the good work by the way. I always enjoy reading your blog.


Leave a Reply

