Alabama 14-21 With Other Thoughts

Well, that was a bit of a let down. If you don’t believe that we don’t have the horses to run with the big guys now, I think you’re a little off in the head.

Will people blame the coaching for this loss? Well, I’d say yes and no. Most people will probably blame John Parker Wilson before the coaching, although that will be #2 on the hit list. Personally, the only coaching I can blame is the offensive play calling. Major Applewhite is an up and coming coach, but he certainly has a lot of ground to make up if he wants to make it in the SEC. I think with time he will.

I think you have to give McElroy some time in the next game against Houston. I don’t want McElroy to start or anything like that, but I would like Wilson to get some kind of wake-up call if possible. What is funny about Wilson is that he doesn’t have horrible stats: 8 touchdowns (6 passing, 2 rushing), 3 interceptions, and 1091 yards passing. He’ll just never be a 60% pass completion guy though.

As for Nick Saban, I really don’t think he did a bad job in this game, I’m not sure he and the staff did as well as they could’ve done. He is a defensive coach, and he has this defense playing way above their heads for most of the game. We just have almost no depth on the defensive side of the ball. You can only play the same group of guys for so long during a game until they get dog tired, which would explain that last FSU score after Alabama finally did something offensively.

In the end though, it all comes down to offense. As John Parker Wilson goes, so does the Tide. No coaching can fix his decision making skills in the middle of a 4 man rush. Once we feel the pressure, we start to make some plays on offense. But, that usually happens after we’re down double digits. What blows my mind is how great we can look in the 2nd half, after looking like a high school offense in the 1st half.

There is one thing I would like to address. Mike Shula and staff were telling us all that if we held on for one more season, we would see a great football team. Well Mike, I’d hate to break it to ya, but you left our defense high and dry in recruiting. We’d be lucky to win 4-5 games with your play calling.

As for Auburn, I’m going to say that they will win. If they don’t win, it’ll be decided by 7 points or less. Tubby shines in these “we have no chance” games. Plus, Florida rarely pressures the QB. Remember this Auburn fans.

The coaching is working, we’re just not there yet. Still, I would feel better had we been able to say we gave it our all.

5 Responses to “Alabama 14-21 With Other Thoughts”

  1. Joe Blow Says:

    Hey, man. Good call on the Auburn game. Florida was able to pressure Cox a good bit in the second half. I’m beat after watching that one.

  2. TideDruid Says:

    Well hey, trends are there for a reason. UF had an iffy defense, and Tubby always performs against the big teams.

    One odd thing, I’m getting a lot of hits from Auburn blogs tonight lol.

  3. Joe Blow Says:

    My gut wanted to say Auburn for the sole reason that these type of games are when Tubs shines, but I try to take the homer hat off when making predictions. Auburn looked like a completely different team last night. I want to know what they do differently on away games. Whatever it is, they need to start doing it in Auburn! Maybe stick the team in a hotel the night before to make sure they’re in and asleep at a decent hour might do the trick. I thought they used to do that. They may still do.

  4. Tide Druid: Let Down « Bryant Drive Says:

    […] Druid: Let Down Jump to Comments Tide Druid: Well, that was a bit of a let down. If you don’t believe that we don’t have the horses to run […]

  5. wpolscemamymocneseo Says:

    I really thankful to find this site on bing, just what I was looking for : D too bookmarked .


Leave a Reply

