Punished Internally

Saban has finally addressed the situation involving Fanney, Upchurch, and Deadrick: It’s being handled internally.

I know I may be swimming up stream on this one, but I’m not very comfortable with this response. It is too similar to a Mike Shula answer. Saban’s response is better than Shula’s in regard to actually giving us some level of insight as to what the punishment might be (as well as not letting them talk of sweets), but it isn’t a very straightforward answer either.

I know Saban will actually make them sweat a lot more than Shula would, but this honestly just seems too vague to me.

No, I’m not asking him to be like Tuberville, who chases after any camera he can find when he needs a PR event. I’m just asking for something more reasonable. Deadrick was charged with giving a false name to officers, resisting address and criminal mischief. If these allegations are true, then there should be some form of public accountability, sending the right message to the team and to the community in order to keep the attitude in the program moving forward.

I know that there is a right to due process and that they are innocent until proven guilty in this country, and I agree with you. But, I think there should be something more than this (I’m sorry for repeating myself). Besides, UA has access to plenty of good lawyers who can get Deadrick and the others out a legal mess if needed.

Do I think this is a huge scandal? No, I wouldn’t got that far. It’s a PR blunder (UA has made a lot of those lately). As I said before, messing up a situation like this is a coaching misdemeanor. Time will tell if Saban has done the right thing or not. All I can do now is wait and see while I sit here with this iffy feeling in my stomach.

8 Responses to “Punished Internally”

  1. tideball Says:

    The important distinction isn’t that no one’s uncomfortable with it being internal, they are uncomfortable with it sounding like Shula. Shula wasn’t wrong when he said Simpson’s punishment wouldn’t be public, he was wrong when he proceeded to do nothing very little about it. As such, the fear is that Saban is saying it to mask doing nothing like Shula, but something a little closer to the truth would be Saban is refusing to put an easy handle on anything as he is wont to do. It might actually be a suspension, but as soon as someone calls it that, he’ll refute it just to avoid putting a fine point on it, just as he refused to give coaches positions initially, and refuses to call his defense a 3-4 or a 4-3 or anything in between, or really do anything that might increase understanding of the “process.”

  2. Pete Holiday Says:

    “If these allegations are true, then there should be some form of public accountability”

    I think that’s called “conviction and sentencing”. I’m not sure why we tend to think that, because these players are athletes, they deserve to be punished twice for the same thing. I agree with Saban on this one. The only purpose served by a public punishment is to show that he’s not Shula. I don’t think we hired the man to be Not-Shula. We hired him to be Saban, and this is the way he’s always handled things.

    “Besides, UA has access to plenty of good lawyers who can get Deadrick and the others out a legal mess if needed.”

    What I think you’re suggesting here would be contrary to NCAA bylaw 16.02.3 (the “Extra Benefit” rule) unless UA would hire a high-powered attorney for any old student who got in a fight outside a bar.

  3. TideDruid Says:

    I guess now I should explain what I mean by “access”.

    If you remember Juan Simpson’s case, he had a lawyer handle his legal issues pro bono. Someone at the University probably knows a lawyer willing to do this work for some exposure. They could simply mention it to the player and let that be that. I doubt a judge would let them get off scot-free, but they would certainly avoid a major legal ordeal.

  4. Pete Holiday Says:

    Hmm. That sounds suspicious. I wonder if they got Simpson’s pro bono atty ok’d by the NCAA.

  5. TideDruid Says:

    It could be. Maybe I just gave you an extra point for your “dirtiest programs” list ha ha.

    BTW, I like reading your stuff. Feel free to come on here and question my logic any time, I really don’t mind.

  6. TideDruid Says:

    For the record, I must state that while I don’t know for SURE that this is happening, I do have reason to think something like that is surely occurring. Simpson’s lawyer was a fairly well know guy who charges like it, so he obviously doesn’t do too many pro bono cases. It’s just SEC athletics.

  7. Pete Holiday Says:

    Oh, I’m not doubting it at all. I just know that one of Texas Tech’s violations in the 1998 report was for providing free legal services to players, and I doubt the NCAA would make the distinction between a high-powered atty that Alabama’s paying versus a high-powered atty that is taking the case pro bono.

    That said, this recent dust-up with the Boise State player’s wedding security had to go through the NCAA in order for the school to pay. They tend to be fine with stuff like that if it’s ok’d ahead of time.

  8. Rebdawg Says:

    Did you hear that Castille was aressted last night. The hits just keep on coming!


Leave a Reply

