Crimson and White Roundtable (3rd Edition)

Well, I have been gone the last few days. I’ve been seriously thinking about going into retirement/semi-retirement due to recent changes in my life. I just graduated college, I’m about to start working very soon, and *wink wink* OTHER parts of my life are requiring the attention they deserve.

So, I’m letting you know you’ll be seeing less of me in the future. I’ll still be around from time to time when something major happens to offer my opinion and coverage. But, I just don’t think I need to try and run a daily blog when I’ve got other things in my life now that I won’t be having as much free time that college students normally have.

To be fair, I will participate in the CW Roundtable since my fellow bloggers gave their time in answering my questions. I think it is a fun, light hearted event we have that everyone enjoys.

Picture Me Rollin’ is the host, and he brings us these thought provoking questions:

1. Other than the contest against Little Brother, what do you think is a “must-win” for Alabama this season?

How about the match-up between a TV and my soon to be crimson colored fist if we lose the Iron Bowl?

But in all seriousness, I guess it would be Mississippi State. Yes, the Starkvillians have been a small thorn in our side these past two years due to an active effort of trying to lose by our boys in Crimson. Seriously, have you ever seem Alabama flatter against an SEC team than MSU these past two years? If we lose to Tennessee, I’ll be unhappy, but fine considering the amount of chatter towards Alabama fans doesn’t scale down when we crush them.

2. Every year there seems to be a player that no one is really talking about pre-season that garners accolades by the end of the year. Who will that be for Alabama this year?

Earl Alexander at WR. He had himself a very good A-Day performance, and we desperately need a few Receivers to step up and fill the shoes of Hall, Brown, and Caddell. He is tall, quick, and fairly strong, and doesn’t seem to be garnering much attention with the likes of Burton Scott and Julio Jones getting all of the media coverage.

3. In your opinion, how many true freshmen will start against Clemson? How many will start against Little Brother?

We may actually see more against Clemson since it will probably be a testing out period for a portion of the game. Sure, we do want to win, but it is only one game and we need to figure out who can step up during a pressured situation.

As for the Iron Bowl, I really hope that we see the exact number needed for a victory, whatever it may be.

4. Pick one player on offense and one on defense and give a match up with an opponent that you are really looking forward to watching this season.

Bama’s O-line vs. LSU’s D-line.

Rolando McClain vs. anybody.

5. What, if any, SEC school’s head coach will be out after this season?

Steve Spurrier. Having been to Columbia, South Carolina numerous times, I can tell you that it is a nice place to visit and possibly live (I never got to see the suburban areas, so I can’t speak for them. And yes, I know the Danny Ford boys might be disappointed in me for saying such a thing). But, it is not a football hot bed, nor will it ever be a football hot bed. He’s over the age of 65 and has really looked worn down and tired of being at a program that isn’t moving up as quickly as he had hoped. Adding all of that together, it just seems that he may step down in the next year or two.

I’m not saying that he will do it, but he seems the most likely to me. There is Rich Brooks, but I really haven’t seen him looking to worn down.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.